Southbound Tacos

Southbound Tacos

Southbound Tacos

This week I decided to try somewhere new and I came across Southbound Tacos. Southbound Tacos is located at 1216 Battleground Ave right between Mac’s Speed Shop and Doggos.

Southbound Tacos Signage

The inside decor had a nice cantina feeling, very bright and colorful; complete with Reggae and Ska music.

Inside Decor

Bus Mural

I saw the sign at the entrance that said to sit anywhere and you will be served or you can sit at the counter and watch the kitchen prepare your meal. I sat at a booth and checked out the menu while I waited to be seen.

Entrance Sign

Front Side of Menu

Back Side of Menu

So the menu is straightforward and organized well with good headers. Since it was my first time I decided to go simple and got the 3 carnitas tacos and red beans and rice. I choose corn for my tortillas and got a sweet tea to drink with my food. The tea was perfectly sweet- like how it should be.

Sweet Tea

My food arrived about 6 minutes after ordering which is pretty fast in my book.

Carnitas Tacos, Chips and Salsa, Red Beans and Rice

So the tacos were good - meat was tender, tortillas were warm and the pickled onions were crunchy. The chimichurri crema was flavorful and tied it all together for me. The red beans and rice were actually black beans- which I don’t mind- and they were pretty good to me. I recommend mixing the rice and beans together for nice a combination. I was not expecting any chips and salsa but they do include a little bit with your meal. The chips were fresh the salsa was light in flavor. For the 3 tacos, rice and beans and a drink it came up to $20.60. This is a little bit pricey to me. I feel like for what I’m getting maybe more around $15-$16 would be fair. Overall this place was pretty good for some “fancier” tacos.

This is a brand new place so I expect great things from them once they get a customer base built up. I would also say that this is an alternative option to Crafted Taco.

What place do you prefer for tacos?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.